I Dreamed a Dream...

Colm Wilkinson & Ramin Karimloo
Les Misérables in Concert: The 25th Anniversary
London, 3 October 2010
 
Show People with Paul Wontorek
2 August 2013
 
Paul Wontorek: How did you first get on stage? Like, what... what, what got you... You started in like rock bands? And you started doing that, right? It wasn't... Or was it about, like, "I wanna be the Phantom of the Opera?"
 
Ramin Karimloo: That's exactly what it... 'Cause...
 
Paul Wontorek: Really!?
 
Ramin Karimloo: Around 12, we had to go on a school trip, and it was the Phantom, and I couldn't think of anything worse. 'Cause I was playing hockey, I wanted to be... you know, tough guy and go be in the NHL. And then, I thought... It was a day off school, so I'll go. And we went, and I saw it, and I thought "oh, my God!". This was unbelievable. And the Phantom was Colm Wilkinson, who has probably the coolest and most unique voice. And it just... You know... There's tears in his voice. That's what I love about it, so soulful. And the story was so heartbreaking [...] It was the first time I remember having a frog in my throat. And, uh, thinking "what is this feeling? Why am I feeling like this?
 
Paul Wontorek: Wow.
 
Ramin Karimloo: And then I thought, I wanna do that, that's cool. 'Cause I remember how... You know... I was so impressed by it and this whole impression, and I thought "I wanna do that". And my friend went "yeah, right...". And I went "I'll bet you I'll be the Phantom".
 
Ramin Karimloo & Colm Wilkinson
The Phantom of the Opera at the Royal Albert Hall
in celebration of 25 years
London, 2 October 2011
 
 
Ramin Karimloo & Colm Wilkinson
Les Misérables Charity Performance
Toronto, 11 January 2014
 
Ramin Karimloo
Main Stage Credits
 
2002, London, Les Miserables (Feuilly, and understudying Marius and Enjolras)
2003, London, The Phantom of the Opera (Raoul)
2004, London, Les Misérables (Enjolras)
2007, London, The Phantom of the Opera (the Phantom)
2010, London, Love Never Dies (the Phantom)
2010, London, Les Misérables 25th Anniversary (Enjolras)
2011, London, The Phantom of the Opera 25th Anniversary (the Phantom)
2012, London, Les Misérables (Jean Valjean)
2013, Toronto, Les Misérables (Jean Valjean)
2014, New York, Les Misérables (Jean Valjean)